All in a Day’s Work

Ever since Samantha started talking really well, we’ve been highly entertained by her lovely turn of phrase. As much as I wish to believe that every noteworthy expression will leave an indelible mark on my brain, the brain I am working with is a Mommy brain, which evidently is incapable of such feats. So rather than trying to do the impossible, I decided that every so often, I will take notes for one whole day.

So here, ladies and gentleman, is a full day of Samantha, October 19th, 4 years old:

While Daddy was tickling her in the morning morning: “Stop it, you beast!”

While watching Cormac play on the patio, she says,”His sister is pretty wild!”

Feeling how much cooler it’s gotten outside,”Ooooh I’m so chilly!”

While watching a video with me, “I’m faithful to God.”

While I was scrolling down the newsfeed of my facebook page, out of the corner of her eye, while also watching Daddy play a video game, she catches a peek of someone’s engagement ring and said, “Ahh beautiful ring!”

While going potty at Target,

Sam: Daddy, does God like kids to play with toys?

Daddy: I think so.

Sam: God doesn’t like kids to make a mess.

Daddy: Oh? Who told you that?

Sam: I just know it.

Also while in the bathroom at Target, “I don’t want to fall into the potty because I love my family!”

While helping me sew, “Mommy, do you think everyone loves me?”

When Daddy whisked her off to bed and started reading stories to her while I tried to get her brother down, she cries most dramatically, with very big tears rolling down her face, “Mommy, Daddy won’t let me have you!!!”

After getting out of bed to potty, “Daddy, I need your help. I poo-pooed, and I need to get the brown and yellow off.”

And following that exchange, before finally going to sleep for the night,

Sam: I know everything!

Daddy: Oh yeah?

Sam: Yeah!

Daddy: You’re a genius.

Sam: Yes!!

Samantha Mouse Coat

 

 

 

 

 

 

So here’s to our little girl who is constantly surprising us. We fall more and more in love with you everyday!

2 thoughts on “All in a Day’s Work

  1. Ah the insights of this precocious four year old are endless!! You know they say, ‘everything I need to know I learned in kindergarten’, well, she already knows it all and she hasn’t even gotten to kindergarten yet!!! Go Sam!!!!

  2. I love this! What a great idea! You definitely won’t remember if you don’t write it down, even though you think you will.

Leave a Reply

