That’s What I Like about You

This blog is the perfect avenue for remembering those precious little things that slip so easily from our minds as parents. No matter how often I’m reminded, it’s difficult to fathom just how quickly what we take for granted in our children today will be all but forgotten tomorrow. So in an effort to record these little nuggets of today:

Purple Hat Sam

Samantha,

I love the way you talk. You have the most wonderful way of expressing yourself. I love hearing you say things like, “Actually…” or “Hopefully…” or hearing your explanations for things, like tonight when you said”I can’t see it! Because my eyes are SOOOO little!!”

I love the way you say “I love you” for no reason at all. My favorite is when you say, “You know, Mommy…I love you.”

I love the way you love your brother more than words could ever express. Your face lights up when you see that he’s awake. You’re always making sure he’s okay, and checking on him when we need to see him breathe. You make him laugh better than anybody else, and he adores you as much as you adore him. Playing together is already so much fun.

I love you way you love to help me. I also love that you really do help me. You beg to help me do the dishes, fold the clothes, or clean the bathroom. And it’s always so much better than doing it alone.

Even though our bed is too small for you to join us comfortably, I can’t help but love that you want to. When I ask you why, you say “Because I love you, Mommy.”

I love the way you love your family. The words “Cousins,” and “Grandparents,” are obvious favorites. You already know what a family reunion is, and you wonder why we aren’t having them all the time. Being together is so much better than anything else.

Bubby Purple Hat

Cormac,

I love the way you smile. Even when you’re standing up at the toilet, holding onto the rim with one hand, and grabbing gobs of toilet paper to then stuff them in your mouth, you have the most charming smile. Whether I’m yelling your name in a panic, or calling you just for fun, your smile is just mesmerizing.

I love the way you grab my face/hair with both hands, and then try to chew on my jaw as hard as possible. You’ve done this for many months now, and I just assume you are kissing me. Whether that’s true or not, I can’t help but love it.

I love the way you laugh. There’s just nothing better!

I love your persistence. You love to chew on everything. Every single thing. You never back down. You never give up. And it’s just so darn cute.

I love the way you reach for me. The way you wave. The way you hold on so tight when I hold you. Really, I just love everything you do.

I love that when I call your name and come toward you when are about to do something you shouldn’t, you start crawling as fast as you possibly can in the opposite direction.

I thank God every day for the most wonderful blessing of having children. There truly is nothing better!

Sam and Cormac Orange

7 thoughts on “That’s What I Like about You

  1. That is such a beautiful post and it brings back soooo many memories!!! The pictures are perfection itself!!! Thank you for sharing with us the most important things in life!!

  2. Oh Tori! You are gifted. Thank you for reminding me what is most important today. It’s not this pile of papers I need to grade or the conference I am about to sit in on, it is FAMILY! My family. The loves of my life. I absolutely want these pictures. They are perfection as Marmee says. You also brought back many wonderful memories for me as a mother. I just wish we had this same media to share those precious memories. Cormac sounds so like his Daddy when he was little. I too treasure that sweet, small voice of Samantha saying, “Grandmom, I love you.” There is truly nothing better than experiencing motherhood and now grandmotherhood. I love you!

    1. Thank so much! I would love to send you these pictures. I can definitely see Matt in Cormac, too. Not just the way he looks but also that super sweet spirit. I remember very well just how incredibly sweet and charming Matt was in those home videos. I’m so glad Cormac has his Daddy to learn from! :).

  3. Wow Tori, that was truly beautiful, and yes brought back many memories for me as well. I’m sure I won’t be the first to tell you that every time I read one of these posts I think well I know they should all be in a book. Connie is so right and she is such an awesome person. You both are very lucky to each other. Those pictures of the babies are incredible to. Can’t wait for that family reunion. Till then I will look forward to reading your next blog.

  4. Tori, love the blog. Your children are beautiful! You reminded me of some of the precious things my kids did. (Like Bo holding both sides of my face to kiss me.). Thanks for the memories , and keep up the good wo

    1. Hi, Aunt Linda!! Thanks so much for your comment! It’s great to hear from you. I’m so glad my post brought back such sweet memories. I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

