Infinite Playlist

For a bit of fun on this Easter Sunday, Dot, from Ken and Dot’s Allsorts, has tagged me to participate in the infinite playlist meme. I’m supposed to be listing the five songs I could listen to repeatedly without tiring of. It’s really quite fun to try to answer this question, and, fortunately, I have no ability whatsoever to listen to songs in moderation. I tend to beat them to death as quickly as possible. So finding those magical five songs is really just a matter of looking for the survivors of my musical slaughtering. Given my very strong sense of nostalgia, it is not surprising that these five are really about the people whom I shared them with.

1. Beautiful Surprise by India.Arie

This is a song that I love from India’s album, Voyage to India. My brother, Gabe, and I share many fond memories of listening to this in high school.

2. Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap

Another song that Gabe introduced me to that I absolutely can’t get enough of.

3. Maybe It’s You by The Carpenters

My mom and I listened to this song all the time as part of our “cleaning music.” I scrubbed many a toilet while listening to Karen Carpenter’s buttery voice.

4. Black Water by The Doobie Brothers

My brother, Buck, introduced me to this song long ago while I was still in elementary school and we were fishing buddies. Then, while in the Army, I went on my first date with my husband after he heard this song playing on my radio. We knew then that we were meant for each other.

5. Joyful, Joyful by Lauryn Hill

Gabe and I used to watch Sister Act II every time we visited my grandmother. I fell in love with Lauryn Hill’s voice then, and I still love listening to anything she sings. I included the video to show off just how awesome the Whoopi Goldberg choir is. This is yet another reason why Gabe and I are musical soul mates.

One thought on “Infinite Playlist

  1. You are the most amazing, entertaining artist in your own right… every time I log onto this blog I am thrilled and left waiting…oh so impatiently…until the next time…thanks for consistently giving me something to look forward to… šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

