Mommy Milestones: Part 1

Every mother hears the unavoidable questions about their baby that center around those oh-so-crucial “milestones” in Baby’s life. Everywhere you go, and everyone you talk to will incessantly pester you about whatever “milestone” they feel will be most applicable to your baby’s age. Of course, if your little one is even the slightest bit delayed from reaching that milestone in that arbitrary time-frame, God help us all! Fortunately for me, our Bean hasn’t had any snags to speak of, so we can all wipe the sweat off our brows and continue living and breathing, but I wonder sometimes; what about the “Mommy milestones”? Surely all of us Moms out there, especially first-timers, have a few things we will be accomplishing for the first time, and I have decided that we should get a little credit for it every now and then. After all, I am confident that my perfectly healthy baby will sooner or later learn to do every little thing that us humans learn to do in order to live a normal life. In other words, she doesn’t have to try too hard just to be normal, but ME on the other hand? All those little motherly things that I have to do come with a lot of conscious effort and serious critical thinking! I have to make real decisions. All this to say that I decided to take a Yoga class a week ago. That meant that I had to LEAVE. I had to go BY MYSELF to a place other than home in order to do a thing without Bean. The utter horror is indescribable. I am convinced that the pit of my stomach will never be the same. This was the first time I have left Bean. Even though it was with her father, a perfectly capable Daddy, I still was more than a little unnerved by the whole event. But I’ll leave the details of the night for another time, and I’ll just say for now: GO ME.

3 thoughts on “Mommy Milestones: Part 1

  1. Yes, way to go MOMMY Tori! You have to take care of yourself so you can keep taking such good care of Bean and it’s good for her to learn that her Daddy can meet some of her needs. That Daddy/ daughter relationship is a VERY important one. Your just doing another important Mommy job in fostering that relationship. So…GO TORI again! 🙂

  2. I’m proud of you! Oh and I really like this blog. How did you know I needed a Bean fix today? I know it has to be so hard to leave her, but how great for her to spend time with her Daddy!

  3. What a creative paradigm shift!!! You are so compelling, I can hardly wait until the next post!!! What a WONDERFUL mommy you are and what a MARVELOUS daddy Bean has!!

Leave a Reply

